Dac/Amp Combos

Hello everyone.

I’m still new to the world of better audio then big box store gaming headsets.

I upgraded from a gaming headset to a sennheiser 58x. I am currently using a Meizu MasterHIFI (for reference https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08H89VZKQ/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_i_9HVW4QGDQMGME18953DR 7)
in the USB c port on my motherboard to power my 58x and they get pretty loud I usually don’t need to go above 60%.

My question is, if I got something like a E10K, K3, Schiit fulla 4, etec a different Dac/amp around the $100 area would I notice any different in sound quality or would it just be a waste of money compared to what I’m currently running?

Another thing, I like that with my dongle dac I can still use the volume knob on my keyboard to adjust the volume, If I got an external desktop dac/amp could I still do that or do I have to use the volume knob on the dac/amp?

1 Like

I have a schiit Hel and I can tell you it is a night and day difference. It is well worth the upgrade. You will still be able to adjust volume with your keyboard. You will have a volume output to the DAC/amp and then the DAC/amp has its own volume control as well.

2 Likes

I haven’t used the particular one you have, so I can’t speak to whether or not others would be an upgrade over it, but I will say that with a nice pair of headphones, having a properly nice DAC/amp is a great investment. I haven’t used the Fulla 4, but the Fulla 3 was pretty good, just a slight step down from the Hel in terms of sound quality. I think they made strides to improve that with the new ones, though, so unless you need some of the features of the Hel, there’s probably not a lot of reason to upgrade (and even then, the stack from them is probably the better choice if you don’t need the mic in). Going beyond that is where prices start to go up a lot for only marginal improvements in quality, so I wouldn’t bother unless you get really into it and know you want that specific thing.