I am new here!

Hello! I just bought a GMMK2, what keycaps do you reccomend?

1 Like

Whichever ones you like, it’s entirely down to preference.

But any recommendations? I am new to the keyboard community and I do not know what keycaps are good or bad.

Well that’s hard to say, because we don’t know if you have preference to certain themes/colors or if you just don’t care about things like that.

Ok, also what does GPBT mean?

Just their naming for the keycaps. The two common materials for keycaps are ABS and PBT. The GPBT keycaps are PBT material.

2 Likes

Ohhhhh, Thank youuu!

PBT tend to have a deeper sound sometimes. If you get cheap keycaps, they will sound cheap. If you get pricer keycaps, like GMK, they will sound more premium. But colors are preference, same with thestyles

So are PBT premium?

Not really, there are good and bad of both PBT and ABS. The “premium” and “quality” is going to be more on the manufacturer of the keycaps more than anything.

This might help.

Edit: take the price argument with a grain of salt. There are some very, very good PBT keycap sets from reputable vendors that are extremely affordable in the grand scheme of things. GMK uses ABS plastic, and they are generally up there in price and group buys.

3 Likes

@Jzff PBT tends to be higher quality there’s also different profiles the most common usually being cherry.

It is also common to have to wait for specific keycaps to drop and to pay a premium price. The most notable of these brands are GMK and ePBT.
Glorious always has some decently priced keycaps that are in stock year-round.
Pending on your budget you could check something like aliexpress or amazon just make sure you get keys that fit your layout. Otherwise, you’ll likely be waiting and or paying a decent chunk for a set that suits your fancy.

2 Likes

Thank you everyone for helping me!

1 Like

Hey @Jzff, welcome to the Guild and the money pit that is custom keyboards!